It is with a deep sense of shock and sadness that I woke up this morning to the news of the death of the great British conductor Sir Colin Davis.

He is particularly remembered for his affinity and expert knowledge of the music of Mozart, Berlioz, Elgar, Sibelius, Stravinsky and Tippett.

I had heard him conduct several times in London, and feel particularly privileged to have heard him with the LSO in Mumbai almost exactly three years ago, conducting Elgar (Enigma Variations) and Berlioz (Symphonie Fantastique), two of the composers that were his forte and works that are close to my heart.

I was lucky to have had lessons (violin and conducting) from his son Joseph Wolfe, during my last few years in England.

I heard the news, as is increasingly the case nowadays, on Facebook.

The tributes are flying in thick and fast.

Click here for a tribute from Jessica Duchen. And here for a piece by Norman Lebrecht.

He will be sorely missed.

Farewell, dear Maestro!

