The news of Professor Flores’s passing left me speechless. It is with a heavy heart that I write these words. In my mind I always thought of him as someone who would live forever. He was without doubt one of the most important people in my life, especially during my early years studying in Vienna.

I first met Professor Flores at age 10. Despite my young age, he accepted me as his student. His unwavering patience and support through the countless hours of teaching has stirred a musical wake-up call during my teens. What I learned from him is immeasurable, may it be a Beethoven Sonata or Chopin Etude or Debussy Prelude. I treasure the comments he marked in my scores as I continue to return to them to this day.

He was such a gentle and noble man – always carried himself in the most elegant manners and with impeccable attires. His generosity went beyond that of our lessons. As I was far away from home with my family in a foreign land with little knowledge of any other languages besides Mandarin, he always took extra care of us and made sure that he was always available to us.

Professor Flores loved life, his students, but first and foremost, his family. He loved his wife immensely – Frau Flores as I always called her, a beautiful human being who was always by his side and supported him. His son Sergio was his pride and joy. With my family we will always treasure their devoted kindness and friendship. They have given us such fond memories of our years living in Austria. 

As we mourn the loss of Professor Flores, his legacy will live on for many years to come through the lives of those he taught and worked with.  He will be missed greatly, but I was so honoured and lucky to have known him. We should all have the opportunity in our lives to know such a great man.

(Jenny Lin, New York-based Taiwanese-American pianist)

Prof. Noel Flores  saw music performance from a different angle than 95% of his colleagues.  I would be curious to know what it is about Goa that produced such a resource for the many pianists who happened to wander through Vienna.

(Burnett Thompson, jazz pianist, composer, educator)

I am saddened to learn of Noel Flores’ passing.  This wonderful man came to my rescue when things were going very badly for me, and he is the reason I was able to have a career in music.
My wife, Linda and I were in Flores’ first class at the Hochschule für Musik in Wien.  I studied there from 1974-1977, beginning when Flores was Dieter Weber’s assistant.  Although I had won a place in Weber’s class and was an advanced student, I needed to put attention on alterations to my technique in playing.  Mr. Weber lost interest in this after the first year, and at the beginning of my second year he kicked me out of his class in front of 40 other students at the initial meeting.  Mr. Flores was sitting next to him with his head bowed.  Although I was shocked and quite embarrassed, I had the presence of mind to ask Weber whether I could simply study with his assistant, Flores.  His response was, "well, if he wants you."  Flores nodded yes.  I had two more years with him, during which I learned how to approach playing the piano more freely to avoid injury.  He shared his own experiences and his studies of medicine and anatomy, and he was always kind and encouraging to me.  He was a true human being in the best sense of the word, quietly and spiritually inspiring.  He respected every person and saw worth in them.
My wife, Linda came to Wien and we married there in my second year of study.  She studied with Flores privately to prepare an audition for the Hochschule.  The professors there did not want to accept her, despite a good audition, because she was "too old" (25).  But Flores assured them that she would be able to finish the course in three years, so she was accepted and studied with him for two years.
We were lucky enough to see him once more in Fort Worth, Texas at the Van Cliburn Institute master classes about five years ago.  He had just retired from the Hochschule.  He recognized us immediately when Tamas Ungar surprised him with our presence in front of the audience, even though it had been 30 years since we’d seen each other.  We had a wonderful lunch afterwards, catching up and reminiscing.
I have such respect for this man and I would not have made it through that rough period in Wien without his support.

(Dr. Andrew Parr
DMA Yale University
Professor of Piano, Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches, Texas
Linda Parr
MM Kent State University
Instructor of Piano, Stephen F. Austin State University, SFA Preparatory Division)

It is my pleasure to contribute to your tribute to Prof. Flores.
I knew him for a long time. We saw each other every now and then at international piano competitions, such as in Tel Aviv, Bolzano, Dortmund, Pörtschach and other places.
It was always very enjoyable to meet him and his wife Regina. In Tel Aviv (many years ago), we also met with his son. Mr. Flores was a very friendly and kind person, always willing to help.
His death came as a shock and I wish his wife and son much strength.
Last weekend, I was in Brussels, where I also visited Martha Argerich again, and she also remembers Mr. Flores and Regina.

(Gustav Alink, Director of the Alink-Argerich Foundation, and its co-founder along with Martha Argerich. Prof. Flores  and he often met as members of jury at international piano competitions). 

image

Prof. Flores (extreme left) at the Schubert Piano Competition in  Dortmund, Germany in 2011

image

Prof. Flores as member of jury at the Brahms Competition in Pörtschach, Austria, 2011

image

Prof. Flores as member of jury at the Brahms Competition in Pörtschach, Austria, 2011

